Museum of the Great Southern

The Museum of the Great Southern precinct overlooks picturesque Mamang Koort / Princess Royal Harbour on the site of the first European permanent settlement in Western Australia (1826).

Here you will find permanent and travelling exhibitions, a replica of the Brig Amity, pop-up artworks, public and educational programs, and information on the natural and social history of the region.

The Museum shares the stories of the Menang Noongar people and the influence of Mokare, an intermediary who assisted European explorers in an unfamiliar environment. It also explores the region's unique landscapes, flora and fauna.

Open Daily

10am – 4pm

Anzac Day 1pm – 4pm

Closed Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Year's Day & Good Friday

Admission

Entry is free, donations are welcome.

Contact us

(08) 9841 4844

VISIT US

Residency Road,
Albany / Kinjarling, WA, 6330

WA Museum App Logo

Meet the WA Museum member app! Store your member card, tickets, exclusive content and offers in the palm of your hand.

Download on Apple or Android.

Special exhibitions & events

Programs

Saturday 29 June -  Sunday 14 July 2024 | 10am - 4pm
Drop-in activities

The Discovery Centre will be brimming with hands-on activities inspired by high-seas pirates these school holidays!

Tuesday 2 July | 10.30am & 11.30am
Wednesday 3 July | 1pm 
Thursday 4 July | 10.30am & 11.30am
Friday 5 July | 10.30am & 11.30am

A performance of a historical ghost story full of mystery, intrigue and based on true events.

Friday 5 July 2024 – Wednesday 28 August 2024

Tributaries explores the fibres of flora, fauna, and human systems.

Saturday 6 July 2024 | 10.30am - 11.30am

Hear from Tributaries artist Tineke Van der Eecken about their exhibition Tributaries.

Sunday 7 July – Sunday 14 July 2024

Come along and see how the NAIDOC poster has changed since they first started in the 1970s.

Monday 8 July - Wednesday 10 July 2024 | 10am - 12pm
Drop-in activities

Celebrate NAIDOC Week this year during the school holidays.

The Brig Amity

Resources

Explore the history of the Great Southern with these resources from the Western Australian Museum.